FHHS Publications Department Gets the Spotlight in Spring Competitions

Posted on 05/10/2017
FHHS Publications editor Shelby Odle works on designing yearbook pages

The Francis Howell High School (FHHS) Publications department has proven to be newsworthy, and this spring has been a special one. FHHS Publications has earned numerous awards, as a group and as individuals. The awards are excellent recognition of the hard work of students and staff, but it also means our community can count on outstanding reports from student journalists on what’s happening around FHHS.

We shouldn’t take for granted the consistency with which this program’s students receive recognition. It is a clear reminder of just how great the work is that these students are offering every day in FHHS Publications. “Awards are always one judge on that one particular day,” said FHHS Journalism and Publication Advisor Michele Dunaway. “So to see students recognized for their work in a consistent fashion is truly a testament to how strong the program is, and how great the kids are.”

Senior Kane Katubig recently won the Missouri Journalism Education Association (JEA) Video of the Year award (Special Projects category), for his anti-suicide Public Service Announcement. Click here to watch it. Katubig was also recently honored by Lindenwood University and Walgreens for his work. Katubig’s honors to the FHHS Yearbook staff getting honored once again for excellence by the Columbia Scholastic Press Association (CSPA), this staff has shown that it can compete with the best in the country.

“(The students) do all the work,” Dunaway said, “and as their coach, I’m delighted to cheer them on from the sidelines. They are an inspiration to me.”

The following students earned awards in the Journalism STL Spring Competition. Best of Show has only one winner, and FHHS students took home three of these awards.

Best of Show, Sports Photography, Jamesia Henderson

Excellent, Yearbook Sports Design, Alyssa Juris

Excellent, Yearbook Academics Design, Shelby Odle

Excellent, Yearbook Clubs/Activities Design, Kaitlin Truong

Honorable Mention, Yearbook Sports Design, Gabriela Gable

Best of Show, Broadcast PSA, Kane Katubig

Best of Show, Newspaper Front Page, Kane Katubig


The following students earned recognition from Columbia Scholastic Press Association Annual Yearbook Gold Circles:

CSPA Gold Circle Award, 1st place, People Spread with Mugs, 2016 Lilly Socha

CSPA Gold Circle Award, CM Endsheet Design, 2016 Lexi Farran and Maddie Villeneuve

CSPA Gold Circle Award, CM Division Page Design, 2016 Lexi Farran and Maddie Villeneuve

CSPA Gold Circle Award, CM Student Life One Spread, 2016 Lexi Farran, Maddie Villeneuve, Gabriela Gable


Four FHHS students were named to the National Scholastic Press Association’s (NSPA) 2017 Honor Roll of Student Journalists. They are students who have worked on an NSPA member publication for two or more years and have maintained a grade point average of at least 3.5 on a four-point scale:

Gabriela Gable, Howelltonian, Francis Howell High School, St. Charles, Missouri
Shelby Odle, Howelltonian, Francis Howell High School, St. Charles, Missouri
Annie Sudhakaran, Howelltonian, Francis Howell High School, St. Charles, Missouri
Brooke Watkins, Howelltonian, Francis Howell High School, St. Charles, Missouri

FHHS students were also successful in the Quill and Scroll competitions, click here to read more.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.